Tuesday, 4 November 2008

Thien Mu Pagoda

The Thien Mu Pagoda is built on the Ha Khe hill on a flat plot 5 km to the west of Huong Long village. The pagoda is surrounded by a stone wall.
The pagoda compounds is divided into two areas: the area in front of the Nghi Mon gate includes such architectural works as the concrete wharf with 24 flights of step, the porch with four pillars built near the road. Fifteen flights of steps from this entrance is the Huong Nguyen Communal House. (Now only an earthenware foundation remains). Behind the Huong Nguyen Communal House is the seven - story Phuoc Duyen Tower. The rear area consists of two hexagonal pavilions: one for the stele and another for the bell. Here there are also such temples as The Dai Hung (All Mighty) Temple, The Avalokitesvara Temple. Besides there are guest houses, and flower gardens. At the far end of this area is pine forest.
Thien Mu is the most ancient pagoda having the biggest structure and it is the most beautiful pagoda in Hue. King Thien Tri classifies The Thien Mu Pagoda as one of the twenty scenic spots of the imperial land in the poem entitled The Sound of The Thien Mu Pagoda Bell.
From 1943 to 1945 the Thien Mu Pagoda fell into ruin. With great efforts. Senior Monk Thich Don Hau re-built the historic pagoda.
Coming here, tourists are captivated by the enthralling beauty of a natural masterpiece with a seven-story tower casting its shadow on the Huong River (mirroring itself on the Perfume River) weaving its peaceful way Eastward. The beautiful sight reminds us of poems and no one forgets:
The yellow bamboo branches sway in the wind.
One catches the sound of the Thien Mu Pagoda bell and Tho Xuong cockcrow. (One hears the sound...)

Hotel reservations in Hue